In a joint effort, Associated Industries of Florida (AIF) and Port Tampa Bay held a symposium entitled 2017 Building Florida’s Future, November 1-2 in Tampa, Florida.

This event will brought together corporate executives, state and national industry experts, community leaders and legislators to discuss those issues that are most important to Florida’s continued growth and prosperity in the transportation, infrastructure and economic development industries.

Important issues discussed were:
  • Alternative Funding for Transportation Infrastructure
  • Autonomous Vehicles
  • Tampa Bay Economic Development Initiative
  • First Mile Last Mile
  • Disaster Plans & Recovery
  • Infrastructure Funding from Federal, State & Local Perspectives

Keynote Speaker

Mike Dew, Secretary, Florida Department of Transportation

Mike Dew has served as Chief of Staff of the Florida Department of Transportation since January 2015. Previously, he served as the Chief of Staff of the Florida Department of Corrections from 2012 – 2014, and as Director of External Affairs for Governor Scott from 2011-2012. Mike received his bachelor’s degree from Ohio State University.


Senator Jeff Brandes (R-St.Petersburg)

Jeffrey Paul Brandes, a true Florida native, was born and raised in St Petersburg and attended Northside Christian School, where is mother served here entire career as an educator; first as a teacher, then as principal, and finally as headmaster. During his high school summers, Jeff learned the value of hard work and integrity while working in the lumber yard of his family’s business, Cox Lumber Co.


Jim Ray
Senior Advisor for Infrastructure, Office of the Secretary U.S Department of Transportation

With over twenty years of leadership experience in the United States Department of Transportation, the White House Office of Management and Budget, on Capitol Hill and in the private sector, Jim Ray possesses a keen understanding of the legal, regulatory, policy and business frameworks underpinning infrastructure and transportation policy, project development, public-private-partnerships (“PPP”) and other innovative delivery models. Jim currently serves as Secretary Elaine Chao’s Senior Advisor for Infrastructure at the United States Department of Transportation. In this capacity, Jim leads the Secretary’s infrastructure agenda across all modes of transportation, sits on the Department’s council on credit and finance, leads the Department’s policy leadership council and supports the Department’s interagency coordination efforts.


Port Tampa Bay
Cruise Terminal 2
651 Channelside Drive
Tampa, FL 33602

2017 Agenda  
Print Friendly Agenda
November 1
  5:30 - 7:00 pm
  Welcome Reception
Open to Sponsors, Registrants, and Guests
November 2
  8:30 am
  Check-In & On-Site Registration  
Continental Breakfast Available
  9:00 am
  Welcome - Mayor Bob Buckhorn, City of Tampa  
Opening Comments - Tom Feeney, AIF
  9:40 am
  First Mile Last Mile
  Moderator: Fmr. Senator Jim Sebesta
  Panelists: Mark Aesch,Transpro Consulting
Katherine Eagan, HART
  10:15 am  
  Federal Transportation Updates
Tom Feeney, AIF
   10:30 am  
  Special Guest Speaker
Jim Ray, Senior Advisor to Secretary Elaine Chao, U.S. Dept. of Transportation
   11:00 am  
  Tampa Bay Economic Development Initiative
  Moderator: Sen. Darryl Rouson (D-St. Petersburg)
  Panelists: Rick Homans, Tampa Bay Partnership
Carlos Alfonso, Alliant Partners
Raul Alfonso, Port Tampa Bay
   11:30 am  
  Lunch Keynote Speaker
Sec. Mike Dew, Florida Department of Transportation
  12:50 pm  
  Autonomous Vehicles – A View from the Legislature
with Senator Jeff Brandes (R-St. Petersburg)
  1:15 pm
  Discussion on Disaster Recovery
with Rick Murrell, Tropical Shipping
and Bob O’Malley, CSX
  1:40 pm
  Presentation on Liquid Natural Gas Applications and Infrastructure
with Robert Butts, Pivotal LNG
  2:00 pm
  Federal, State, Local & Private Infrastructure Funding
  Moderator: Rick Homans, Tampa Bay Partnership 
  Panelists: Carlos Alfonso, Alliant Partners
Doug Davidson, Bank of America
Gina Evans, Tampa International Airport 
  3:00 pm
  Closing Comments & Adjourn