Proin nunc metus, sodales sagittis molestie sed, ullamcorper a nisi. Aenean pharetra odio sagittis ipsum egestas luctus sollicitudin libero vulputate. Etiam sodales vulputat. Lorem ipsum dolor mauris.

President McKay Announces the Senate Select Committee on Public Security and Crisis Management

September 24, 2001
Source: Senator John M. McKay, President of the Florida Senate

President John McKay (R-Bradenton) today announced the formation of the Senate Select Committee on Public Security and Crisis Management. The committee's charge is to make recommendations on steps Florida might take to improve the security of its citizens, infrastructure, and economy in light of the events of September 11, 2001.

"Florida's agencies dealing with state and local law enforcement, infrastructure, and emergency management are national leaders in their fields, and I have every confidence in the work they are doing. If we can help them better meet the new challenges of today's security needs, I want those ideas identified and developed as soon as possible for Florida's lawmakers," said President McKay.

Chairing the select committee will be Senator Ginny Brown-Waite (R-Brooksville). Also appointed to the committee are Senators Skip Campbell (D-Tamarac), Charlie Clary (R-Destin), Victor Crist (R-Tampa), Kendrick Meek (D-Miami), Burt Saunders (R-Naples), Ron Silver (D-North Miami), Rod Smith (D-Gainesville), and Alex Villalobos (R-Miami).

"September 11th showed us that we must not take our security for granted. It is our responsibility to ensure that Florida has taken every reasonable measure to protect our citizens and resources. I am confident that Senator Brown-Waite and the committee will provide us with the best ideas available," President McKay concluded.