Proin nunc metus, sodales sagittis molestie sed, ullamcorper a nisi. Aenean pharetra odio sagittis ipsum egestas luctus sollicitudin libero vulputate. Etiam sodales vulputat. Lorem ipsum dolor mauris.

Associated Industries of Florida Announces the 2008 Champion for Business Award Recipients

May 15, 2008

Tallahassee, Fla. – During the 2008 Legislative Session, Florida’s elected officials created new public policy aimed to serve the best interests of the state’s economy and residents.  Associated Industries of Florida (AIF) applauds state legislators’ ongoing support for Florida’s economic future throughout session and recognizes an esteemed group of legislators as the 2008 Champion for Business award winners.

“AIF is honored to present these legislators with the fifth annual Champion for Business award,” said AIF President and CEO, Barney Bishop.  “Their contribution to the business community through strong and vigorous advocacy is greatly appreciated by our organization as well as businesses throughout the state.”

The 2008 Champions for Business award recipients are chosen for their dedication to Florida’s prosperous future and support for initiatives which will help to jumpstart the economy and encourage business growth.  AIF instituted the Champion for Business award in 2003 to acknowledge law-makers who do more than vote for business by providing leadership on key legislation. A Champion for Business is a legislator who takes risks for their belief in the free-enterprise system, who defies the status quo when it is harmful to our state’s competitive climate and who faces down opponents of the growing prosperity of Florida’s citizens.

Among others issues, recipients of this year’s awards provided leadership in areas such as Florida’s space program, workforce and education development, Ad Valorem taxation, secondary metal theft and their legislative commitment to programs included in AIF’s Economic Stimulus Package.

View the 2008 Champions for Business award recipients

In addition, Honorable Mentions for the Champion of Business award were presented to Rep. Dean Cannon (R - Winter Park), Sen. Lee Constantine (R - Altamonte Springs), Rep. Maria Sachs (D - Delray Beach), Rep. Franklin Sands (D – Weston) and Rep. Jack Seiler (D – Pompano Beach).  These individuals worked on behalf of the business community on issues relating to expanding commuter rail, outlawing secondary metal theft, creating additional foreign language programs in schools statewide, championing the My Safe Florida Home program and protecting private property rights.

“AIF is proud to recognize these Florida officials for their strong advocacy and support of business community,” said Bishop. “They are strong activists for improving Florida’s business climate and we honor their valiant efforts to champion issues which are critical to AIF members and the state’s business community.”