Welcome to the New Website for Asscociated Industries of Florida...The Voice of Florida Business!

Legislature Passes AIF Supported Workers' Compensation Bill

April 31, 2009

Today the Florida Senate gave final approval to meaningful workers’ compensation legislation that will reduce workers’ compensation premiums and guarantee fairness and predictability in litigated claims. HB 903 passed the Senate by a vote of 22 -16.  This bill was championed in the Senate by Senator Garrett Richter (R-Naples) and in the House by Representative Anitere Flores (R-Miami).  AIF applauds the leadership and courage of Senator Richter and Representative Flores for heralding this critical legislation that will save Florida jobs and keep Florida’s businesses working.

It should also be noted that in the final debate on the Senate floor, where several Democrats attempted to derail the passage of this important bill for the business community, Senators Don Gaetz (R- Ft. Walton Beach) and JD Alexander (R-Winter Haven) were strong supporters of our position that this bill is important to the ability of employers in Florida to continue to fight through this very bad economy.

We look forward to the Governor signing this good bill into law and allowing Florida’s employers to avoid damaging, escalating rates for their workers’ compensation insurance.


Members Supporting HB 903
(AIF Position)
Members Opposed
JD Alexander (R)
Thad Altman (R)
Jeff Atwater (R)
Carey Baker (R)
Mike Bennett (R)
Larcenia Bullard (D)
Lee Constantine (R)
Charlie Dean (R)
Nancy Detert (R)
Alex Diaz de la Portilla (R)
Mike Fasano (R)
Don Gaetz (R)
Andy Gardiner (R)
Mike Haridopolos (R)
Jim King (R)
Evelyn Lynn (R)
Steve Oelrich (R)
Ken Pruitt (R)
Garett Richter (R)
Gary Siplin (D)
Chris Smith (D)
Stephen Wise (R)
Dave Aronberg (D)
Victor Crist (R)
Ted Deutch (D)
Paula Dockery (R)
Rudy Garcia (R)
Steven Gelber (D)
Dennis Jones (R)
Arthenia Joyner (D)
Charlie Justice (D)
Al Lawson (D)
Durell Peaden (R)
Nan Rich (D)
Jeremy Ring (D)
Eleanor Sobel (D)
Alex Villalobos (R)
Frederica Wilson (D)